April’s Song – Real Estate

It’s about 4:00am on Wednesday December 17th. It’s less than a week to Christmas and my classes are finally all finished for the semester. I’ve turned my room into this blanket cave and have been hibernating. I really just popped by to add a few new updates of my work. I finished this website for my friends’ band and it turned out pretty rad.

I started working on it last April and they finally needed it for their debut release record that came out December 5th. I haven’t checked out the entire thing yet (I know, I know, terrible), but they’re playing a show this Friday at the Boston Manor in Burlington (Open inviting to come along!) so I’ll definitely hear the whole record there. Looking back at my process on the website design and development I made some huge mistakes, and learned a crazy amount from it.

My design is super basic and I know how to move forward now but I usually don’t like anything I’ve made looking back at it. I hope people dig it because their band is stellar and it felt great to contribute to such a killer project. I made a lame little collage of screenshots to check out and I’ll post the website link.

AND CHECK OUT THE BAND!

I felt caps were necessary.

http://www.biglonely.com

http://biglonely.bandcamp.com/

big_lonely_collage

And my second thing is a cool interactive band website application prototype I designed. The idea revolved (ha, revolved… you’d get that if you used the app.) around a ticket purchasing interface where you move a bus around to different cities where the band is touring. When the bus lands in say Toronto, the app opens up a ticket purchasing interface.

It’s fully functional and I 3D modeled Toronto and Montreal on an Earth and a tour van that rotates around the earth. I coded the thing using WebGL libraries so it’s ‘cutting-edge’. I’m not posting the app because it’s janky and it stinks, but I love it so I’ll give you some screenshots.

interaction_collage

I’m also posting a movie poster design that I kinda dug. I took some photos in Toronto edited them (instagram style) and added some trimmings.

poster_design

Okay, my next post will be one updating my life and thoughts and junk, I swear! And yeah, here’s a great tune by Real Estate.

 

Leave a Reply

