Arduino project, bartending and Sylvan Esso

Hello people,
As per usual, lots to talk about but I’m just popping by for a quick update!

This semester has been crazy stressful and I haven’t had much time to even breathe. Between working as a bartender, (pretty much a life dream) hammering out assignments of varied nature and maintaining some sort of social life, I’m pretty beat. But it ain’t over yet. I’m super nervous about our webGL assignment, because I have no idea what I’m doing. I’m sitting in class just pretending I’m a programmer/coder and so far the charade isn’t holding up. We’ll see where I end up.

Recently we completed this electronics assignment where we thought up a mechanical concept (utilizing the Arduino), prototyped it, wired it and laser cut a container to create an end product. We called it the Drunken Noise Box. Such a fun project, and it’s a great step away from coding in a digital space. I’ll post the shaky-ass Vimeo at the end of the post

As for bar-tending, I’m having the time of my life. I somehow got the bartending position at my school pub and I am so stoked to be apart of such a stellar group of people and killer environment. I’ve already meet so many new friends and it’s quickly become the second half of my life. I even bar tended during a USS show, which again, pretty much a life goal checked off the list.

I started this drink recipe collection on scrap paper and a friend suggested to just use a notebook, so I’ll be making like a drinks recipe and reference book, thing. If we ever create our own random drink that’s rad maybe I’ll post it on here or something. Also had the idea of making a digital app and a infographic where people could select a drink to order based on mood and current tastes. Still an idea in progress but it might be cool if people dug it.

Okay, I think that’s it for now, but below I’ll have a new song to check out and my Vimeo of The Drunken Noise Box.

Later!

 

The Useless Machine – Drunken Noise Box from Jordan Morrison on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

