Front Bottoms//Dads, Poutine(or lack of) and Toronto

Front Bottoms at the Hard Luck Bar in Toronto.  That thing between my legs is an empty confetti launcher that I got a hold of. Happy Birthday Buddie!

Front Bottoms at the Hard Luck Bar in Toronto.
From left to right – Ciaran O’Donnel – Guitarist, Mathew Uychich – Drums, Nigel – My chum, Me – Touque’less, Tom Warren – Bass, and Brian Sella – Vocals.
That thing between my legs is an empty confetti launcher that I got a hold of. Happy Birthday Buddie!

Another quick update!  Haven’t been in the mood at all for writing but I figured I would at least update my blog here a little.  I’ve spent the last, like five days, in downtown Toronto at my buddies place because I had two shows to go to in the span of three days so I figured I would just hang there until the shows were over.

I’m home now, and so glad.  I can only take so much of the city… and their apartment, sometimes. I had a blast, spend a lot of money, got to see my great friends from school last year, and saw some totally rad shows.  The first being The Front Bottoms! Holy cow they were rad.  Their newest record Talon of the Hawk is the catchiest thing I’ve heard all year, so much so that I’m actually a little burnt out on the them from listening to them all week.  Our friend Joanie actually came all the way from Ottawa to hang with us and to see them play for the second time in two days.  She had already seen them in Ottawa the day before and actually hung out with the bassist Tom Warren.  So when we all went to the show in Toronto she ran into Tom again and we hung out with him the whole night. Super chill dude.

After the insane show of an exceptionally packed bar – to which everyone was moshing at the same time, shoulder to shoulder, resulting in not much actual movement – we stayed afterwards and hung out with the band a little, while I searched for my beloved touque that got knocked off my head on the very last crowd-surf… as I’m typing this I feel like I’ve documented this exact scenario before, which is not surprising considering how many touques I lose. R.I.P. blue Element tuoque

P.S. If anyone is reading this and has been the Hard Luck Bar in the last week and found a ratty blue touque, give me a holla! haha.

Anyway, it was an absolute rad time, and definitely one of my top ten best shows that I’ve seen.  It was also our friend Nigels birthday weekend so it was cool that we all got to go out and see a great show.

So two days from then Nigel and I went back to the Hard Luck Bar and saw the equally rad, but a little less enjoyable ’emo’ band Dads.  They were sweet, but I didn’t really know their tunes as much so I didn’t have as good of a time at that show, but I picked up a 7″ of their new EP so I figured I would give em a better listen later on.  The vinyl is green 🙂

I actually ended up giving my download code of that EP to some girl that was trying to direct me and Nigel to a great poutine place that was open at midnight on a Sunday… turns out nothing is open at midnight on a Sunday, and I am now short one download code.

Good times.

Leave a Reply

