Mass Effect, Vampire Weekend and Osheaga

Hey Folks!

It’s been a few days, but I have been sitting on my butt all evening and I wanted to feel like I accomplished something today, and writing always makes me feel right as rain.

It is about 9:15pm on Tuesday and I’ve been playing Mass Effect and watching Arrested Development all day!  I went out earlier and sold three games and bought the Mass Effect trilogy so I could play them back to back.

The packaging on the trilogy is wicked! I has a exterior slip case with four fold out panels inside, with each game disc included and a sleek little flap at the back for the dlc content.  I am a sucker for great packaging – but really, who isn’t?  I’ve played through Mass Effect 2 already and loved it, but I never got around to playing the first and the third.  The first wasn’t released for Playstation at the time, so I had to skip it.  I pieced together the story as much as I could, but I knew I had obviously missed a few key points.

Also the new season of Arrested Development came out yesterday and I finally decided to start watching the show from the beginning, because I hadn’t checked it out previously.  That has literally been my day.  I had a day off work and it was rainy and thunderstormy out, so I just had a day of solitude.

In other news I am really stoked on getting a tattoo.  I know at my age – 20, in case anyone was wondering – a lot of kids think about getting tattoo’s and that it’s a social norm at this point.  I personally think everyone should get at least one tattoo, if only to better understand what is important enough to you to get something that is permeant.

My friend came to me with an awesome tattoo design and I just fell in love with it.  I apreciate art to such an extent that getting any tattoo would be a great representation of something that I find extrememly important.  The one she designed for me is something that is reflective of my personality.  I’ve told a few people and they all seem to agree that the design is totally something I would get.  It’s basically a male deer, with antlers who is wearing a touque and a bow-tie.  I thought it was freakin’ hilarious.

My personality is something that is light-hearted, zany and extremely silly at heart.  And if anyone knows me or has seen me, they will know that I am almost always wearing a touque… even in the summer.  The bow-tie was hilarious and I really want to get some sort of minute Doctor Who reference planted in there somewhere.  I think that would give it the geek touch it so deserves.

Since then I have been thinking about more tattoo designs that I would like to get, and I keep coming up with new ideas.  Like I want a small one based on Final Fantasy IX, because it’s awesome.  And I was designing another one based on World of Warcraft that would be cool on my foot.  And basically I have just been going crazy coming up with cool stuff.  I really don’t need my tattoo to mean anything, because it’s this small stuff that really means a lot to me.  I definitely won’t be getting these in a rapid succession, so don’t go getting all “HE’S MAKING A HUGE MISTAKE!” on me just yet.  I shall have loads of time to think about these designs and make sure I really want them.

In other other news, today I have officially decided that I will absolutely be attending Osheaga this summer.  I had a really hard time trying to decide whether or not the lineup was good enough, but I would totally hate myself if I missed it and I don’t really have anything else planned this summer – other than a few family related things, like going to Nova Scotia for a week, and my cousin is having her wedding! And we’re having a ginormous family gathering at my house this summer.  Like all the Morrisons in all the lands ginormous!

And I know I will have an insane time, so I will be getting my ticket in the next few weeks, and booking a hostel and booking some transportation.  As of right now, I am going alone, which I am totally fine with but I think I would prefer if at least a couple people came with me.  I shall try and gather some people, but if it doesn’t work out I will be happy going by my self.  I will meet loads of people at the hostel and on the island anyway!

I had a few storys from the night I went out with a bunch of people from my work that I wanted to talk about, but I guess I’ll save that for another time.  Just remind me later eh?  Because you know I’ll forget.

 

ALSO, I have a Band Rec’ of the Day! I usually try and pick bands that I think people haven’t really heard of yet, but today’s pick is Vampire Weekend!  They are playing Osheaga this year, and their record is freaking insane!  I love their singles, Step and Diana Young and everything just feels fresh, and maybe a little over produced, but that totally adds to the charm.  I’ve had this song stuck in my head for a few days now, so now it’s your turn!
Enjoy, and I will talk to you all later 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

