Me First and the Gimmie Gimmies

Hello people!

It’s been a few days since I last posted but I’ve been super tired from working and haven’t had the energy to write anything, but a lot has happened since then and I’ve got a few things to talk about.  Also I have another video game recording planned and might be putting it up tonight or tomorrow.

So a couple of days ago a I met a friend in Toronto to hang out during the day and then go see a show during the night.  The show was her pick and I wasn’t familiar with the band at all. So I told her to give me a description of the band while we were sitting at the downtown waterfront admiring the gorgous day.  The band was called Me First and the Gimme Gimmies and they were basically a supergroup from a bunch of old school punk rockers.  One member was from NOFX (Fat Mike) and another was from Lagwaggon and the others were from various bands in the same community.  I got really excited for the show.

We spent the day wondering Toronto, and we ended up in a place called Cabbage Town?  It was really random, and looked like a rural village… but with more sketchy people roaming.  I had to buy a hat and some sunglasses while we were there so I went into my favourite store, the Vans store, and I picked up some cheap stuff.  I am really not prepared for summer.  I don’t think I left the house much these past years.  After Cabbage Town we ended up at a sweet park near the Phoenix concert venue were there was this giant awesome, wicked Greenhouse!  It was massive and looked like Jumanji and Jurassic Park inside a glass building.  Unfortunatally it was closed when we got there but vowed to return and explore it’s vast and mysterious landscape.  I was also screwing around with the Vine app, but I suck at taking videos so that didn’t turn out, or I would have posted it here.

The show started around 9:00 and the band that opened was called Top Hat Society… Top Class Society… crap, I can’t remember the name of that band.  But they were cool.  Their bassest was rad, and the drummer did this thing were he stood up and smoked the cow bell (I have a fever, and the only prescription is more cow bell!) whilst jumping up and down.  It was actually really impressive and added a sweet vibe to their set.

But the second band to open for the Gimmes, to my surprise, was a band from my home town, and who grew up with people I know! I saw the dudes setting up for soundcheck, and I noticed one guy had a sick touque, and then I realized that I knew him!  I tweeted instantly that the Penskie File were opening for the Gimmies and I just happend to be there!  It was a pleasant surprise to see those guys play again.  I remember watching them play Battle of the Bands in High School.

Then Me First and the Gimmie Gimmes came on stage with matching Hawaiian shirts, and matching white pants, and I knew from the start that it would be a super fun show.  And it did not disappoint.  The lead vocalist was named Spike and he was super cool, rocked sun glasses the entire show, and even pulled out a freakin’ electric Ukelele and jammed out to that for a few solo songs.

Very pleasantly surprised for the entire, and was so glad I left the house that day.  The only down side was the I missed my last train home and had to take the 1:30am Go bus, and then walk from the Go station all the way to my house… which took an hour.  I ended up getting home at about 3:30am and had to go to work for 6:00am.  I had an hour of sleep for a ten hour shift at work.
And the show was worth every missed second of sleep.

Anyway, my Band Rec’ of the Day is Me First and the Gimmie Gimmies, if you like some old school punk rock fun.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Me First and the Gimmie Gimmies

Leave a Reply

