Band/album Rec’ of the Day – The Cave Singers – Naomi

Hey there!

I don’t have too much time to write a post today, but I wanted to put something down.  I’ve been creating a folk playlist all morning and I’ve found a few new records from some great bands, and one of them was The Caver Singers, making them my Band of the Day.  I can’t find out exactly when they realsed the latest record titled Naomi, but it was definitely this year.  They signed to Jagjaguwar records for their last record No Witch (same label as Bon Iver, Dinosaur Jr, Julie Doiron, and other great artists.

They are coming through Toronto on June 17th, which happens to be the same day the Japandroids are coming, so I’m going to have a hard choice to make.  I’m leaning more towards Cave Singers at this point, because they’re playing at the Horseshoe… and I love the horseshoe.

I had a chance to see these guys play in Bristol, England, about two years ago and I had to pass up the opportunity  so it would be wicked to actually see them play.

They have a great raw folk sound, with all the twang and raspy vocals you could ever want.
So check them out, you wont be dissapointed.

Leave a Reply

