Shows and Times: May 13, 2013

This is my first update on bands that will be playing up-coming shows through the Greater Tronto Area with a focus on Toronto.  As bands announce new tours and such I’ll be adding to the list and re-posting it with *New or something like that after the new entry.  I pull most of these listings from Soundscapesmusic.com and from a few other sources like the bands website and from Ticketmaster (which is pretty crappy for finding good tours).  All of these are bands that interest me personally so the list is more tailored to music interets similar to mine, so if anyone reading has liked my Band Rec’ of the Day, these bands are going to be along the same lines.

Arts and Crafts Festival – Fort York and Garrison Common – Sat. June 8 – $78.50

(ft Broken Social Scene, Feist

Ben Howard – Echo Beach – Thursday. August 1 – $32.00

Capital Cities – Mod Club – Monday. May 13 – $16.00

The Cave Singers – Horseshoe Tavern – Mon. June 17th – $15.00

Crystal Castles – Sound Academy – Saturday. June 8 – $28.00

Deerhunter – Phoenix – Thursday. September 12 – $21.00

Devendra Banhart – Danforth Music Hall – Monday. June 3 – $31.00

Father John Misty – Danforth Music Hall – Saturday. August 3 – $21.00

Imagine Dragons – Echo beach – Monday. July 29 – $45.00

Japandroids – Adelaide Hall – Monday. June 17 – $25.00 (From Rotate This only)

The National – Young and Dundas Square – Friday. June 14 – FREE

Portugal. The Man – Phoenix – Tuesday. June 11 – $19.50

The Postal Service (Assigned Seating) – ACC – Tuesday. June 11 – $65.50

The Shins – Sound Academy – Wednesday. May 22 – $36.00

Smith Westerns – Lee’s Palace – Monday. July 29 – $17.00

Toronto Urban Roots Festival (TURF) – Fort York – Thursday. July 4-Sunday July 7 – Individual Prices

(Arkells, She & Him, Fitz & The Tantrums, Belle & Sebastian and more) See website for more details.

Twin Shadow – Phoenix – Friday. June 7 – $27.50

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Lee’s Palace – Wednesday. October 16 – $15.00

Weezer/Passion Pit – Downsview Park – Friday.  July 12 – $70.00

The xx/Grizzly Bear – The Meadow at Downsview Park – Thursday. June 6 – $51.00

Yeasayer – Phoenix – Tuesday. July 2 – $19.00

Youth Lagoon – SOLD OUT

I am a little pissed Youth Lagoon are sold out.  Youth Lagoon is playing tonight at the Great Hall and I can’t believe I didn’t buy tickets for it.  But after those I am most stoked for Smith Westerns to come back, The Cave Singers, Portugal. The Man, and Deerhunter.  There goes the next pay cheque… also I need to find people crazy enough to line up like six shows, but I think I can convince some people. And the tickets are generally really cheap.

I’ll be adding to the list whenever I find another band coming through Toronto that I really stoked about.  Also if you know of any awesome local bands playing in Toronto let me know and I’ll add them to the list and probably go, because I have lots of time on my hands and I love nothing more than seeing wicked shows.

All of these tickets can be bought directly from Soundscapes and Rotate This in Toronto, or through Ticketmaster.  With Ticketmaster you can also pick up your tickets before hand at Sunrise Records.

Leave a Reply

