Two-Thousand and Ten, Farewell

This is technically the third post I will be making today.  I usually hate doing that but a few important things happened so close to the new year, and they had to be said.  So with that behind me, I can move on to the last post I will be making in 2010 and I couldn’t move on to the new year without taking a look at, probably one of the best years of my life.  I suspect every blogger will be busy typing some kind of farewell to the passing year; figured I’d contribute.  But don’t expect a new years resolution from me.  I think that tradition is dumb.  Lets get serious, no one follows through. Click the read more button now!

Geez, where has the time gone?  I feel like every year gets shorter and shorter.  Events in our lives just blowing away before our facebook status watching eyes – I never really got into Twitter.  Some people are nuts for it, but I really preferred using Facebook to display quick little thoughts or messages that popped into my head this year. Even though Facebook changed a hundred times a month and was generally super buggy,  I love it all the same.  It would be scary to see how many hours I have clocked on that stupid website.  Everyday I woke up and checked it for any messages or updates on current events in peoples lives.  Oh, I do remember taking an entire week off of Facebook though!  That was hard…  But this year has had so many note worthy and memorable times.  I have had relationships end, and others start.  I have studied a religion previously new to me.  I climbed Mt. Everest naked, and flew to the moon in hot air balloon made of candy.  Rode a flying elephant with rockets attached to its sides fighting off an evil alien invasion…Okay, not all true, but you get the picture.  A lot has happened!

To kick it off, thinking back, 2010 was a great year for music.  At least the music that I pay attention to.

Top Five Albums of 2010!

1. Miniature Tigers – Fortress
2. Frightened Rabbit – The Winter of Mixed Drinks
3. Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record
4. The Black Keys – Brothers
5. Tokyo Police Club – Champ

My favourite album of the year was definitely Fortress.  It came out July 27th and it was the most memorable record for me.  It was fun, catchy and I felt it was experimental enough to leave some growing room.

This year was such a turning point for me.  I feel like this is the year where I started expanding activities from just playing video games to thinking about the world around me, and it all started with my final year of Art class at my Highschool.  We were told to create a concept and run with it, developing three pieces of art that all connected in idea – previously posted on my blog earlier in the year.  I started thinking about an idea that I had forgotten up until yesterday.  The idea that we have to learn about the World in order to want to save it.  I really enjoyed thinking about this kind of thing, and especially writing about it.

This was also the year where I decided that I loved to write.  Which, I think, is such an important thing in my life right now.  Writing really helps me deal with stuff that develops in my head, and gets any thoughts I have out into the world, instead of bottled up inside.  I don’t feel like I would be the same person if I hadn’t discovered my love for the written word.  The first time I realized that I loved to write was in my final exam for my Grade 12 college English class taught by Mr. Wilkinson.  I felt it was easy, and not very challenging but I got me to think and reflect on my life and to be able to play with sentence structure and development.  And it was back then, probably around that time, where I decided I wanted to try and become a Journalist and I started writing on this very blog consistently.

So that means I have been writing on this thing for almost a full year now! Although the direction of this blog has changed quite drastically since then.  I was looking at a few old posts and back around this time last year I was mostly writing about World of Warcraft and video game/movie reviews.  In about June I switched to writing about different ideas and topics.  And I haven’t looked back since.  But I still do play video games and they are still apart of my life, I just don’t write about them anymore.  So here are my…

Favourite Video Games of 2010!

1. Starcraft 2
2. Red Dead Redemption
3. World of Wacraft: Cataclysm
4. ModNation Racer
5. Call of Duty: Black Ops

Even though Starcraft 2 was my favourite game the came out in 2010 I never touched the Online.  I was just too damn scared to get my butt kicked by Koren kids… those people are way too good at Starcraft.

Weirdly my most popular post this year was the one where I took pictures of me drawing the band mural on my wall, titled Photo Journalistic Blog Post

http://heyjomo.blogspot.com/2010/04/photo-journalism-blog-post.html

I am not the best at reading stats on page views, but I am pretty sure that one is the winner.  I really didn’t like that post to be honest.  I was wearing a really goofy toque indoors, and some plastic, green lensed glasses that I found on the side of the road a few years back… But who am I to argue.

All in all this year has been amazing, and I just know things are only going to get better from here.  I have so much to look forward to.  College, our backpacking through Europe trip!  New fantastic music, and many more video games to play.  I know the next year is going to be even better than the last.
“So keep the blood in your head And keep your feet on the ground”
(Really like that song and lyric… really don’t like the band.  Just sayin’)
And with those final words..

Two-Thousand and Ten, I bid you Farewell.
Happy New Year people!

Leave a Reply

