Metric Mondays: The Mars Volta

I don’t know if any of you have heard of these guys but I checked them out yesterday, and the first way I was exposed to them was a live performance on Youtube and I just thought to myself  “These dudes are clinically insane”  I mean they were going nuts.  They would probably put on one of the best shows ever.  Like for instance, the lead singer Cedric Bixler-Zavala, was jumping around the stage, throwing the mic stand in the air and then catching it upside down while carrying on with the song.  Nuts.

Their sound really interested me, and the lead vocalist had a really dynamic voice.  He almost had a Robert Plant thing going on, but if Robert Plants voice progressed to this aggressive style of music.  The kind of music they are categorized under as is in fact called progressive rock.  Not for the reason I just stated but it is defined as


“Explore[ing] extended musical structures which involve intricate instrumental patterns and textures and often esoteric subject matter.”

I took that definition to mean having a very, very complicated, almost mathematical, approach to musical structure, and these guys have that in every sense.  The time signatures seem crazy me, and some of their tunes seem random and spontaneous like they had just thought it up on the spot.  Another band that did the same thing and reminds me of having the same approach as The Mars Volta, was Protest The Hero but those guys are much heavier and definitely on the metal side, as apposed to The Mars Volta being alternative-progressive rock and roll.

Anyways, if you are looking for something a little different, and a little crazy, check them out.  I have enjoyed the stuff I have heard so far.  I just picked up their latest album, Octahedron which has a lot slower tunes then stuff off of their older albums but awesome none-the-less.

Video is a little bit of an interview and then Cotopaxi, off the album Octahedron by The Mars Volta.

Leave a Reply

